National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators

NAECTE Annual Conferences

NAECTE offers two conference days a year in tandem with the NAEYC fall conference and the June NAEYC Professional Development Institute. Our conference day is always the first day of NAEYC. In the fall, we arrange a full day conference usually including research presentations, poster sessions, a keynote, a luncheon and a membership meeting followed by an afternoon pause and an evening awards ceremony. The spring conference is scheduled as a half-day morning keynote and research presentations/posters.

Notably, there is no separate registration for the NAECTE annual meeting, as it is included in your NAEYC registration. Please wear your NAEYC name badge to our conference. We do hope that you will renew your NAECTE membership at the fall meeting or online before the conference. Our memberships are a key way for us to thrive and offer these great opportunities to connect in our work and research endeavors!

If you have any questions, please contact the Vice President for Conferences, Pamela Evanshen, at:

Fall 2019 Conference Program: NAECTE Fall 2019 Program Final

NAECTE Members,

Please join us at our NAECTE Conference on Wednesday, November 20, 2019, 8:00 – 3:00 pm, Music City Center, Davidson Ballroom, Salon B.

If you aren’t a member, join now! Our Keynote Address will be presented by Walter Gilliam, PhD, Professor of Child Psychiatry and Psychology at the Yale University Child Study Center.

We hope to see you in Nashville, TN!

Walter S. Gilliam is the Elizabeth Mears and House Jameson Professor of Child Psychiatry and Psychology at the Yale University Child Study Center, as well as the Director of The Edward Zigler Center in Child Development and Social Policy. He is a member of the board of directors for ZERO TO THREE, Child Care Aware of America, the Irving Harris Foundation; All Our Kin, and First Children’s Finance; a research fellow of the National Institute for Early Education Research; and former Senior Advisor to the National Association for the Education of Young Children. Dr. Gilliam is co-recipient of the prestigious 2008 Grawemeyer Award in Education for the coauthored book A Vision for Universal Preschool Education. Dr. Gilliam’s research involves early childhood education and intervention policy analysis (specifically how policies translate into effective services), ways to improve the quality of prekindergarten and child care services, the impact of early childhood education programs on children’s school readiness, and effective methods for reducing classroom behavior problems and preschool expulsion. His scholarly writing addresses early childhood care and education programs, school readiness, and developmental assessment of young children. Dr. Gilliam has led national analyses of state-funded prekindergarten policies and mandates, how prekindergarten programs are being implemented across the range of policy contexts, and the effectiveness of these programs at improving school readiness and educational achievement, as well as experimental and quasi-experimental studies on methods to improve early education quality. His work frequently has been covered in major national and international news outlets for print (e.g., New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Chicago Tribune, LA Times), radio (e.g., NPR), and television (e.g., CNN Headline News, NBC TODAY Show, CBS Early Show, ABC Good Morning America, ABC World News Tonight, FOX News). Dr. Gilliam actively provides consultation to state and federal decision-makers in the U.S. and other countries and is frequently called to provide U.S. Congressional testimony and briefings on issues related to early care and education.

View us at

Like us at

Highlights of Past Conferences

NAECTE Summer 2019 Conference
View Conference Program

NAECTE Fall 2018 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE Summer 2018 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE Fall 2017 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE Summer 2017 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE Fall 2016 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE Summer 2016 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE Fall 2015 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE Summer 2015 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE Fall 2014 Conference
Conference Program

NAECTE June 2014 Conference
Conference Program

Fall Conference for 2013
“Quality Teacher Education Research: Listening to our work, learning from our work”
Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, from 8:30 until 4:00, in Washington, D.C.
Conference Program

Conference Program

Conference Program


Sharon Ritchie addressed NAECTE in November to help Early Childhood Teachers and Teacher Educators – “Focus Our Advocacy Efforts”. She asked us to consider: How do we benefit from collective knowledge and wisdom? How do we improve the school experiences of our most vulnerable children? What are foundational processes for young children? and… What if we really used research to guide our practice?
Sharon’s full Keynote PowerPoint presentation.

Frances Rust spoke to NAECTE at its June 2009 meeting. She urged our group to action in addressing the challenges currently confronting early childhood teacher educators. June 15 2009 Conference Keynote by Frances O’Connel Rust

Wednesday, November 5, 2008
Dallas, Texas
2008 Conference Lilian Katz Keynote Address

NAECTE 2007 Conference Keynote Address NAECTE 2007 Conference Program
The November 2007 conference in Chicago marked the 30th anniversary of NAECTE. The members in the photograph below have been conference attendees since the organization’s inception in 1977. For more information about the history of NAECTE, see our history page.


Photo taken by Rebekah Fassler

Front Row (left to right). Joan Isenberg,
Stephanie Feeney, Leah Adams, Doris Fromberg,
Helen Botnaresque, Doris Bergen, and Kathryn Castle.

Back Row (left to right). Mary Jensen, Blythe Hintz,
Patricia Vardin, James Hoot, and Anne Dorsey.