National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators

NAECTE Foundation


The NAECTE Foundation is a 501(c) tax-exempt organization that raises funds for the benefit of early childhood teacher educators and the children and communities they serve. The goals of the NAECTE Foundation are:

  • Advocacy of NAECTE goals;
  • Promotion and support of research projects related to Early Childhood Teacher Education; and
  • Provision of scholarships for Early Childhood Teacher Education students.

2019 Bylaws: NAECTE – Amended and Restated Bylaws v.6



The NAECTE Foundation, along with several generous sponsors (Pearson, Taylor & Francis, Cengage), provides funds for awards recognizing excellence in the field of early childhood teacher preparation. These awards honor the outstanding contributions of early childhood teacher educators, researchers, advocates, practitioners, and doctoral students. Nominations are due each summer and awards are presented each year at our fall conference at a reception honoring all recipients. Please take a moment to review each award at the link below and consider nominating deserving individuals!

Awards and Grants



You can help to support NAECTE’s goals for early childhood teacher education by contributing to the NAECTE Foundation. You may designate your contribution to any of the Foundation’s three goals. If you wish to use your contribution to mark a special event or to commemorate the memory of a loved one, the Foundation will send an acknowledgment to the designated recipient indicating your contribution on her or his behalf. All contributions are tax-deductible.

We welcome gifts of all sizes, but hope that you will consider, at some point, becoming a member of the Circles of Giving or joining a new level in the Circles of Giving. (Click here for a list of Friends of NAECTE whose cumulative contributions make them members of the Circles of Giving.)

Making a donation to the Foundation is convenient. You can complete the form on the Foundation Brochure and mail the form and your check to:

NAECTE Foundation
c/o Dr. Frances O’Connell Rust
18 Thorn Avenue
Mount Kisco, NY 10549-2916

Or, you can complete the Online Donation Form and make your contribution using PayPal.

To learn more about the various ways to make a major gift or to include the Foundation in your estate plan, visit NAECTEF’s Overview Chart for Charitable Giving, its Estate and Gift Planning Guide, its Legacy Brochure, and its Record of Enhanced Legacy Gifts.



After much discussion among former NAECTE presidents, the NAECTE Foundation was formed in 1998. Four former presidents Doris Bergen, Doris P. Fromberg, Sara W. Lundsteen, and Janet B. Taylor signed the Articles of Incorporation. Working together, the group of past presidents then began the work of collecting donations in order to implement the goals of the Foundation. The membership of the Foundation includes all Past Presidents of NAECTE (Mary York, Verna Hildebrand, Sara Lundsteen, Leah Adams, David Day, K. Eileen Allen, Joanne Herwig, Anne Dorsey, Harlan Hansen, Doris Fromberg, Mary Jensen, Frances Rust, Christine Chaille, Kathryn Castle, Joan Isenberg, Janet Taylor, Doris Bergen, Amanda Branscombe, Elaine Surbeck, Marjorie Fields, Nancy Freeman, Sara Davis, Libby Ethridge, Kelly Baker, Angela Baum).